>

DARS Super Users and Webmasters

From DARSwiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Preface

This article will be updated on a regular basis. Updates may be required in response to updates to DARS or changes to business processes or errors.

Refer to DARSWiki Conventions for information on icons and other conventions that may apply to this User Guide.

Ensure you are familiar with the Data Protection laws before adding data to records in DARS. Refer to DARSWiki FurtherHelp for further information and relevant links. Please think twice before printing this article. If a printed copy is necessary, ensure it is printed double-sided and always recycle old versions.


Introduction

This document sets out the role of DARS Super Users and Webmasters and lists current members of these two Groups. Contact your own Super User or Webmaster for further details.


The role of a Super User or Webmaster

Super Users are an independent group who work together to advance the effective use and development of DARS by current Participants across the collegiate University. Their twin roles are:

  1. To champion and drive best use of DARS
  2. To support users within their college or department


Webmasters are a combined user and technical support group who work together to advance the effective use and development of DARS-based websites by current Participants across the collegiate University and for the benefit of alumni and other visitors. Their three roles are:

  1. To champion and drive best use of DARS-based websites
  2. To support users within their college or department
  3. To support external visitors to these websites


Both Super Users and Webmasters act as the key liaison with and between:

  • Users within their office;
  • The DARS Support Centre; and
  • Other DARS Super Users and Webmasters


Job specification

A Super User or Webmaster should help to establish the use of DARS in everyday workflows by:

  • Developing best practices at an office-based level
  • Sharing best practices more widely with other Super Users and Webmasters
  • Pointing users towards up-to-date documentation and support
  • Being a point of contact for DARS-related matters
  • Informing users about System changes
  • Providing at-desk mentoring and trouble-shooting


S/he should also help to contribute to the future direction and shape of DARS.


Time commitment

Super Users and Webmasters need to take time on a regular basis not just to support their colleagues but also to acquire a good understanding of DARS by accessing the support resources available, using and learning about the System in new ways, and working one-to-one with the DARS Support Centre. We recommend that, where possible, Super Users and Webmasters set aside a weekly slot for the role.


Both informal and formal meetings bring Super Users across Participants together on a regular basis to share best practices and solutions as a group, to learn about new features, and to provide feedback and new ideas to the DARS Support Centre. The same is true for Webmasters although, as a smaller group, meetings may be less frequent. Both groups are also encouraged to organise their own demos, WebExes or workshops to share their processes with other users.

Resources for Super Users and Webmasters

In addition to the Learning resources available at www.darscentral.ox.ac.uk, all Super Users and Webmasters are welcome and encouraged to contact the DARS Training Group if they require training or support with respect to fulfilling their Super User or Webmaster role. Remember that Super Users and Webmasters are also available to help each other!

Two maillists (dars-super-users@maillist.ox.ac.uk and dars_webmasters@maillist.ox.ac.uk) exist for sharing best practices and ideas or asking questions at any time. The DARS Support Centre email Super Users and Webmasters via these forums with updates to then disseminate more widely.

A read-only DARS System Availability calendar within Microsoft Outlook Exchange is available to all Super Users and Webmasters. The Support Centre updates this with details of the timing, duration and purpose of any planned downtime, as well as freeze periods when planned downtime will not be scheduled because of key business requirements such as financial month-end and website launches.

For Super Users, there are also special ‘Surgeries’ held every two months for sharing new features and more advancing training, accompanied by an SU Newsletter. An additional Local Site Admin System role is available for some Super Users, where appropriate, to provide enhanced access to data maintenance features.


A Super Users Committee oversees activity of the wider group:

Matt Dunne
(Chair)

Hannah Olsen-Shaw
(SU Group Co-Chair)

Louise Dawkins
(SU Group Co-Chair)

Sami Marjanen

Current Super Users and Webmasters

Below is a list of the current Super Users and Webmasters. If you are interested in becoming one, please contact Matt Dunne or the DARS Customer Services Team.


Participant Super User Super User Email Webmaster Webmaster Email|

Ashmolean Museum

Balliol College

Andrew Murton

andrew.murton@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Aria Johnston

aria.johnston@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Biochemistry

Sarah-Jane Scard

sarah-jane.scard@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Blavatnik School

Steven Bowden

steve.bowden@bsg.ox.ac.uk

Bodleian Libraries

Richard Parfitt

richard parfitt@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Careers Service

Michael Moss

michael.moss@careers.ox.ac.uk

Chemistry

Susan Davis

susan.davis@chem.ox.ac.uk

Computer Science

Continuing Education

Rachel Green

rachel.green@conted.ox.ac.uk

Education

Engineering Science

Teresa Greening

teresa.greening@eng.ox.ac.uk

English

Jacqui Collier

jacqui.collier@ell.ox.ac.uk

Geography and the Env’t

Christine Baro-Hone

christine.baro@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Green Templeton College

Sam Novak

samantha.novak@gtc.ox.ac.uk

Hertford College

Julia Thaxton, Nick Stone - Villani and Olga Batty

julia.thaxton@hertford.ox.ac.uk nicolas.stonevillani@hertford.ox.ac.uk olga.batty@spc.ox.ac.uk

History Faculty

Laura Spence

laura.spence@history.ox.ac.uk

International Development

Jo Boyce

jo.boyce@qeh.ox.ac.uk

Jesus College

Eve Bodniece

eve.bodniece@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Keble College

Camilla Matterson

camilla.matterson@keble.ox.ac.uk

Camilla Matterson

camilla.matterson@keble.ox.ac.uk

Kellogg College

Emma Sadler

emma.sadler@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Lady Margaret Hall

Gus Bridges and Sarah Jones

gus.bridges@lmh.ox.ac.uk sarah.jones@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Gus Bridges

gus.bridges@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Law Faculty

Kate Graham

kate.graham@law.ox.ac.uk

Magdalen College

Mark Randolph

mark.randolph@magd.ox.ac.uk

Mathematics

Dyrol Lumbard

lumbard@maths.ox.ac.uk

Mansfield College

Catherine Conisbee

alumni.officer@mansfield.ox.ac.uk

Marketing and Insights Team

Claire Grainger

claire.grainger@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Claire Grainger

claire.grainger@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Merton College

James Vickers

james.vickers@merton.ox.ac.uk

Music Faculty

Elizabeth Green

liz.green@music.ox.ac.uk

New College

Jonathan Rubery

jonathan.rubery@new.ox.ac.uk

Jonathan Rubery

jonathan.rubery@new.ox.ac.uk

Nuffield College

Monica Esposito-West

monica.esposito-west@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Oriel College

Bobby Higson and Robert Buckett

bobby.higson@oriel.ox.ac.uk robert.buckett@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Oxford Martin School

TBC

tbc

Oxford Medical Alumni

Ellysia Graymore

ellysia.graymore@medsci.ox.ac.uk

Pembroke College

Merrill Herbert

merrill.herbert@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Catherine Beckett

Merrill Herbert

Sophie Elkan

catherine.beckett@pmb.ox.ac.uk

merrill.herbert@pmb.ox.ac.uk

sophie.elkan@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Physics

Val Crowder

valeria.crowder@physics.ox.ac.uk

Politics and IR

Regent’s Park College

Julie Reynolds

julie.reynolds@regents.ox.ac.uk

Rothermere American Institute

Huw David

huw.david@rai.ox.ac.uk

Said Business School

Deo Fernandes

deo.fernandes@sbs.ox.ac.uk

Deo Fernandes

deo.fernandes@sbs.ox.ac.uk

St Anne’s College

Hannah Olsen-Shaw

hannah.olsen-shaw@st-annes.ox.ac.uk

Hannah Olsen-Shaw

hannah.olsen-shaw@st-annes.ox.ac.uk

St Benet’s Hall

Ethan Kuhn

ethan.kuhn@stb.ox.ac.uk

St Cross College

Ella Bedrock

ella.bedrock@stx.ox.ac.uk

St Edmund Hall

Tom Sprent

thomas.sprent@seh.ox.ac.uk

Tom Sprent

thomas.sprent@seh.ox.ac.uk

St John’s College

James Driscoll

james.driscoll@sjc.ox.ac.uk

James Driscoll

james.driscoll@sjc.ox.ac.uk

St Peter’s College

Guy Cable

guy.cable@spc.ox.ac.uk

Guy Cable

guy.cable@spc.ox.ac.uk

St Stephen’s House

Rachel Makari

rachel.makari@ssho.ox.ac.uk

Social Policy & Intervention

Ruth J Moore

ruth.moore@spi.ox.ac.uk

Somerville College

Clare Finch

clare.finch@some.ox.ac.uk

UO Alumni Office

Elina Cotterill

elina.cotterill@alumni.ox.ac.uk

Elina Cotterill

elina.cotterill@alumni.ox.ac.uk

UO Asia Office

Mayumi Azuma (Japan)

Grace Tsang (HK-China)

mayumi.azuma@oxfordjapan.org

grace.tsang@oxforduchina.org

UO Development Office

Nicky James

Sami Marjanen

Begina Slawinska

Christian Propper

Huw Hallam

Sophia Nelson

Susan Pring

nicola.james@devoff.ox.ac.uk

sami.marjanen@devoff.ox.ac.uk

begina.slawinska@devoff.ox.ac.uk

christian.propper@devoff.ox.ac.uk

huw.hallam@devoff.ox.ac.uk

sophia.nelson@devoff.ox.ac.uk

susan.pring@devoff.ox.ac.uk






UO North America Office

Clement Stormes

cstormes@oxfordna.org

UO Publications and Web Office

Lisa Seddon

lisa.seddon@admin.ox.ac.uk

Wadham College

Angela Jefferson

angela.jefferson@wadham.ox.ac.uk



Wolfson College

Kathryn Mackay

kathie.mackay@wolfson.ox.ac.uk



Personal tools
Namespaces
  • Page
  • Discussion
  • Variants
    Actions
    Navigation
    DARS User Support
    DARS Support Centre
    Advancing Oxford
    Tools