>

DARS Super Users and Webmasters

From DARSwiki
Revision as of 14:50, 21 August 2015 by Ouit0224 (Talk | contribs) (Current Super Users and Webmasters)

Jump to: navigation, search


Preface

This article will be updated on a regular basis. Updates may be required in response to updates to DARS or changes to business processes or errors.

Refer to DARSWiki Conventions for information on icons and other conventions that may apply to this User Guide.

Ensure you are familiar with the Data Protection laws before adding data to records in DARS. Refer to DARSWiki FurtherHelp for further information and relevant links. Please think twice before printing this article. If a printed copy is necessary, ensure it is printed double-sided and always recycle old versions.


Introduction

This document sets out the role of DARS Super Users and Webmasters and lists current members of these two Groups. Contact your own Super User or Webmaster for further details.


The role of a Super User or Webmaster

Super Users are an independent group who work together to advance the effective use and development of DARS by current Participants across the collegiate University. Their twin roles are:

  1. To champion and drive best use of DARS
  2. To support users within their college or department


Webmasters are a combined user and technical support group who work together to advance the effective use and development of DARS-based websites by current Participants across the collegiate University and for the benefit of alumni and other visitors. Their three roles are:

  1. To champion and drive best use of DARS-based websites
  2. To support users within their college or department
  3. To support external visitors to these websites


Both Super Users and Webmasters act as the key liaison with and between:

  • Users within their office;
  • The DARS Support Centre; and
  • Other DARS Super Users and Webmasters


Job specification

A Super User or Webmaster should help to establish the use of DARS in everyday workflows by:

  • Developing best practices at an office-based level
  • Sharing best practices more widely with other Super Users and Webmasters
  • Pointing users towards up-to-date documentation and support
  • Being a point of contact for DARS-related matters
  • Informing users about System changes
  • Providing at-desk mentoring and trouble-shooting


S/he should also help to contribute to the future direction and shape of DARS.


Time commitment

Super Users and Webmasters need to take time on a regular basis not just to support their colleagues but also to acquire a good understanding of DARS by accessing the support resources available, using and learning about the System in new ways, and working one-to-one with the DARS Support Centre. We recommend that, where possible, Super Users and Webmasters set aside a weekly slot for the role.


Both informal and formal meetings bring Super Users across Participants together on a regular basis to share best practices and solutions as a group, to learn about new features, and to provide feedback and new ideas to the DARS Support Centre. The same is true for Webmasters although, as a smaller group, meetings may be less frequent. Both groups are also encouraged to organise their own demos, WebExes or workshops to share their processes with other users.

Resources for Super Users and Webmasters

In addition to the Learning resources available at www.darscentral.ox.ac.uk, all Super Users and Webmasters are welcome and encouraged to contact the DARS Training Group if they require training or support with respect to fulfilling their Super User or Webmaster role. Remember that Super Users and Webmasters are also available to help each other!

Two maillists (dars-super-users@maillist.ox.ac.uk and dars_webmasters@maillist.ox.ac.uk) exist for sharing best practices and ideas or asking questions at any time. The DARS Support Centre email Super Users and Webmasters via these forums with updates to then disseminate more widely.

A read-only DARS System Availability calendar within Microsoft Outlook Exchange is available to all Super Users and Webmasters. The Support Centre updates this with details of the timing, duration and purpose of any planned downtime, as well as freeze periods when planned downtime will not be scheduled because of key business requirements such as financial month-end and website launches.

For Super Users, there are also special ‘Surgeries’ held every two months for sharing new features and more advancing training, accompanied by an SU Newsletter. An additional Local Site Admin System role is available for some Super Users, where appropriate, to provide enhanced access to data maintenance features.


A Super Users Committee oversees activity of the wider group:

Matt Dunne
(Chair)

Ben Armstrong
(SU Group Co-Chair)

Claire Grainger
(SU Group Co-Chair)

Louise Strano-Cashin
(SU Group Co-Chair)

Rachel McDonald

Sami Marjanen

Current Super Users and Webmasters

Below is a list of the current Super Users and Webmasters. If you are interested in becoming one, please contact Matt Dunne or Martin McGovern.

The latest version of this document can be downloaded at http://www.darscentral.ox.ac.uk/superusers

Participant Super User Super User Email Webmaster Webmaster Email|

Balliol College

Andrew Murton*

andrew.murton@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Aria Johnston

aria.johnston@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Blavatnik School

Casper Bangert
Michaela Graham

casper.bangert@bsg.ox.ac.uk
michaela.graham@bsg.ox.ac.uk

Bodleian Libraries

TBC

TBC

Careers Service

Michael Moss

michael.moss@careers.ox.ac.uk

Chemistry

Lucy Erickson

lucy.erickson@chem.ox.ac.uk

Computer Science

Frances Wheare

frances.wheare@cs.ox.ac.uk

Continuing Education

Rachel Green

rachel.green@conted.ox.ac.uk

Earth Sciences

Claire Grainger

claire.grainger@earth.ox.ac.uk

Claire Grainger

claire.grainger@earth.ox.ac.uk

Engineering Science

Eva Williams

eva.williams@eng.ox.ac.uk

English

Lindsey-Anne Bridges

lindsey-anne.bridges@ell.ox.ac.uk

Geography and the Env’t

Ian Curtis

ian.curtis@ouce.ox.ac.uk

History Faculty

Laura Spence

laura.spence@history.ox.ac.uk

Jesus College

Ruth Grant

ruth.grant@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Ruth Grant

ruth.grant@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Keble College

Camilla Matterson*

camilla.matterson@keble.ox.ac.uk

Camilla Matterson

camilla.matterson@keble.ox.ac.uk

Kellogg College

Monica Pope

monica.popa@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Lady Margaret Hall

Gus Bridges*

gus.bridges@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Gus Bridges

gus.bridges@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Law Faculty

Michelle Robb
Elizabeth Hodges*

michelle.robb@law.ox.ac.uk
elizabeth.hodges@law.ox.ac.uk

Magdalen College

Ben Armstrong*

ben.armstrong@magd.ox.ac.uk

Mathematics

TBC

TBC

Mansfield College

Aparajita Kashyap

aparajita.kashyap@mansfield.ox.ac.uk

Merton College

Elina Harjula*

elina.harjula@merton.ox.ac.uk

Elina Harjula

elina.harjula@merton.ox.ac.uk

Music Faculty

Bella Pratt

arabella.pratt@music.ox.ac.uk

New College

Jonathan Rubery

jonathan.rubery@new.ox.ac.uk

Jonathan Rubery

jonathan.rubery@new.ox.ac.uk

Oriel College

Kari Hodson*

kari.hodson@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Tim Pottle

tim.pottle@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Oxford Martin School

Bea Smith

beatrice.smith@oxfordmartin.ox.ac.uk

Oxford Medical Alumni

Jayne Todd*

jayne.todd@medsci.ox.ac.uk

Pembroke College

Merrill Herbert*

merrill.herbert@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Catherine Beckett

Merrill Herbert

Sophie Elkan

catherine.beckett@pmb.ox.ac.uk

merrill.herbert@pmb.ox.ac.uk

sophie.elkan@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Physics

Val Crowder*

valeria.crowder@physics.ox.ac.uk

Politics and IR

Kate Candy

kate.candy@politics.ox.ac.uk

Regent’s Park College

Fiona Floate
Will Watt

fiona.floate@rpc.ox.ac.uk
will.watt@regents.ox.ac.uk

Fiona Floate

fiona.floate@rpc.ox.ac.uk

Rothermere American Institute

Huw David

huw.david@rai.ox.ac.uk

Said Business School

Deo Fernandes*

deo.fernandes@sbs.ox.ac.uk

Deo Fernandes

deo.fernandes@sbs.ox.ac.uk

St Anne’s College

Rebecca Munro-Stearn*

rebecca.munrostearn@st-annes.ox.ac.uk

Kate Davy

kate.davy@st-annes.ox.ac.uk

St Benet’s Hall

Penny Lane

penelope.lane@stb.ox.ac.uk

St Cross College

TBC

TBC

St Edmund Hall

Sally Smith*

sally.smith@seh.ox.ac.uk

Sally Smith

sally.smith@seh.ox.ac.uk

St John’s College

Caitlin Tebbit*

caitlin.tebbit@sjc.ox.ac.uk

Caitlin Tebbit

caitlin.tebbit@sjc.ox.ac.uk

St Peter’s College

Louise Strano-Cashin*

louise.strano-cashin@spc.ox.ac.uk

Natasha Denness

natasha.denness@spc.ox.ac.uk

St Stephen’s House

Sue Keeling

susan.keeling@ssho.ox.ac.uk

Social Policy & Intervention

Sarah Bryant

sarah.bryant@spi.ox.ac.uk

Somerville College

Clare Finch*
Michael Hawkes

clare.finch@some.ox.ac.uk
michael.hawkes@some.ox.ac.uk

Clare Finch

clare.finch@some.ox.ac.uk

UO Alumni Office

Rachel McDonald*

rachel.mcdonald@admin.ox.ac.uk

Rachel McDonald

Joanna Whiting

Paul Sweeten

rachel.mcdonald@admin.ox.ac.uk

joanna.whiting@alumni.ox.ac.uk

paul.sweeten@alumni.ox.ac.uk

UO Asia Office

Mayumi Azuma (Japan)

Enrica Kwan* (HK-China)

mayumi.azuma@oxfordjapan.org

enrica.kwan@oxforduchina.org

UO Development Office

Steve Bowden*

Nicky James*

Selina Jones*

Sami Marjanen*

Conrad Youngman

Susan Louineau

steven.bowden@devoff.ox.ac.uk

nicola.james@devoff.ox.ac.uk

selina.jones@devoff.ox.ac.uk

sami.marjanen@devoff.ox.ac.uk

conrad.youngman@devoff.ox.ac.uk

susan.louineau@devoff.ox.ac.uk

Conrad Youngman

Amy Cox


conrad.youngman@devoff.ox.ac.uk

amy.cox@devoff.ox.ac.uk


UO North America Office

TBC

TBC

UO Public Affairs

Clare Monaghan*

clare.monaghan@admin.ox.ac.uk

Wadham College

Rachel Roberts

rachel.roberts@wadh.ox.ac.uk

Laura Taylor

development.assistant@wadh.ox.ac.uk

Wolfson College

Elliot Falvert-Martin

Elliot.martin@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

Elliot Falvert-Martin

Elliot.martin@wolfson.ox.ac.uk


*An asterisk after their name denotes that they are also a Local Site Admin user.

Personal tools
Namespaces
  • Page
  • Discussion
  • Variants
    Actions
    Navigation
    DARS User Support
    DARS Support Centre
    Advancing Oxford
    Tools